Board Members

Board Members

Meet Our Board of Directors

President, James Miller, Ashland

Jim Miller and his wife Kathy live outside Washburn.  He is a retired college VP/Dean who worked at Northland College, UW-Superior, and several other colleges and universities.  He has served as a Supervisor and Board Chair for the Town of Washburn and President of the National Association for College Admission Counseling.  He currently also serves on the board of Ashwabay Alliance, which includes Big Top Chautauqua and Mt. Ashwabay.


Vice President: John Manno, Ashland

John Manno was born and raised in the south side of Chicago. He moved to Ashland from Port Angeles, WA in 2014. He’s a semi-retired musician.




Secretary: Dale Chesley, Ashland

Dale Chesley is a retired pastor in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. He is married with two adult daughters and a third daughter of heart. He is presently serving as interim pastor for Bethesda Lutheran Church in Bayfield and Immanuel Lutheran Church in Cornucopia. It is his heartfelt passion that we are called to care for those in need around us as a number one priority.


Treasurer: Lorri Mattes, Mason

Lorri Mattes has been Treasurer for The BRICK since March 2020. She has lived and worked in the Ashland area for the past 30 years.  She and her husband volunteer Thursday evenings in the food shelf.  They enjoy working in the food shelf where they get to meet and talk with pantry shoppers.





Board Member: Pastor Don Quigley, Mellen

Donald Quigley received a Bachelor’s degree in Classical Guitar Performance in June 1975 and received a Master of Divinity degree on June 1, 2013. Rev. Quigley was ordained in the United Church of Christ on November 15, 2015 and began serving as Pastor of Congregational UCC Mellen, Wisconsin on December 15, 2015.





Board Member: Kelly Westlund, Ashland

Kelly Westlund is a career public servant, currently working as the Bayfield County Housing Educator through UW-Madison Division of Extension. She is in her first term with The BRICK’s Board of Directors and is excited about helping to build a more welcoming and supportive community for those in need. She and her husband, Caleb, live in Ashland with too many pets.




Board Member: Wendy Gorman, Ashland

Wendy Gorman and her husband Owen have been part of the Ashland community since 1999. Wendy was employed Northland College for 21 years as Professor and Academic Dean. She currently volunteers with The BRICK’s Food Shelf Program.